Film DVD related reviews


DVD title: The Last Temptation of Christ - Criterion Collection
Productgroup: DVD
The Last Temptation of Christ - Criterion Collection - movie DVD cover picture
needs to be seen


i've been wanting to see this for so long because of it's controversial content and the fact that christian fundamentalists thought it so horrid to try and ban it from ever being seen.finally it is available and i am glad that i've been able to see it.the story is faithful to the life of jesus and asks the question,what if jesus had given in to temptation during his most desperate hour.willem dafoe plays the lead better than i've ever seen jesus portrayed.barbra hershey plays magdalene,harvey keitel plays judas,harry dean stanton,abe farrara and david bowie also star in this film directed exquisitely by martin scorsese.this should be seen and not hated for it's contoversial content.the temptation is not what you might think and everything is done in good taste.beautifully photographed,great soundtrack,story and acting are all good.i can't stress enough the fact on how great this film really is.it definitely belongs in the top 100 of all-time.remember it is just a movie,that makes you think.so open up your mind and take a chance,it is well worth the wait.

Studio: Criterion Collection
Director: Martin Scorsese
Actors:
Willem Dafoe
Harvey Keitel
Barbara Hershey




DVD title: Tromeo and Juliet
Productgroup: DVD
Tromeo and Juliet - movie DVD cover picture
They found a peanut, all right...a peanut of DEATH!


I've always had this fantasy that some thoroughly disreputable quick-buck movie would end up being brilliant. Like, what if some soft-core "Erotic Thriller" ended up having gutsy, breakthrough performances and a riveting plot? What if "Police Academy 12" was Oscar-worthy?
My fantasies came through with "Tromeo & Juliet." The very concept of a punk "Romeo" is brilliant - they conceived this before Baz Luhrmann's movie - but seeing as how this is Troma we're talking about, Lloyd Kaufman could have steered this in a very wrong (read: conventional) direction. Fortunately, they managed to find a young mad genius named James Gunn to write the script, and they found some hungry young acting talent who threw themselves into the project. And Kaufman, perhaps inspired by all this, finally directed like a man more concerned with making a good movie than cashing in on the quick-buck exploitation trends that nearly ruined "Troma's War" and "Sgt. Kabukiman."
Not that "Tromeo & Juliet" isn't a quick-buck exploitation movie. It is. It's also a hilarious and inventive comedy, an art film, a soft-core porno, a gross-out gore flick, a surprisingly moving love story, and - best of all - one of the most oddly faithful Shakespeare adaptations I've ever seen. Amazingly, it's all these things all at the same time, sometimes even in the same scene (check out Murray Que's final scene, in the tattoo parlor). "Tromeo" captures the spirit, the wordplay, and the abandon that so many staid Shakespeare movies completely miss. And it's one of the most energetic and creative movies you're likely to see.
I could gush on and on about "Tromeo," for it is my favorite movie. Now that James Gunn is a big-time - although still delightfully weird - Hollywood writer, I wouldn't be surprised to see a surge in "Tromeo" sales. This is a good thing. "Tromeo" is a completely unique and exhilirating movie, and it deserves a huge audience. It's not for everyone, I suppose (the close-up shot of the nipple being pierced will pretty much clear the room of those who should have stayed away in the first place). But if you like a little trash in your art, or art in your trash, give "Tromeo" a chance.
Oh - and the budget for "Tromeo" was $350,000, or about what it costs to cater lunch for a week on your basic Adam Sandler movie.

Studio: Troma



DVD title: Britney Spears - Britney: The Videos
Productgroup: DVD
Britney Spears - Britney: The Videos - movie DVD cover picture
Another great Britney video, but with a misleading title!


Notice how I just said "another great Britney video"? That's my way of saying that Britney Spears puts out superb home music videos everytime without fail. This third offering from the Princess of Pop may only be 30 minutes long, yet is packed with amazing, must-see stuff for Britney fans everywhere. It is called Britney: The Videos, yet contains only two actual music videos - three if you count Overprotected which is just a performance with out-takes from Crossroads. In November 2001, Britney released her third album, Britney. It went to No.1 all over the world, sold 17 million copies...blah, blah, blah - see my review of the album for more. Later in the month, Britney: The Videos was released as a sort of essential item of merchandise to accompany the album. Everytime Britney releases a video, sales go through the roof - especially in America. At its short time-length, this video surpassed everyone's expectations as it topped the VHS chart for ages in the US and has only just left the Top 20 - almost a year after it was released!
The video begins with the music video to Britney's April 2001 hit, Don't Let Me Be The Last To Know which was taken from her second album Oops!...I Did It Again. The video is set on a deserted beach as Britney runs around, scantily-clad with the love of her life. The video is beautiful - and not just because of Britney! The sky is a deep blue/purple and the sea is so calm. Despite this, the video caused a lot of controversy, but not enough for the single to go Top 10 in the UK - her only single not to chart in the UK Top 10 to date. The video also apparently caused outrage with Britney's mum who condemned her daughter for producing such a raunchy video - she had no bad comments to say about the I'm A Slave 4 U (which I regard to be even more steamy than the video in question), which makes you think that this whole affair with Britney's mum being shocked was another false accusation by the world's press from the Britney Rumour-Mill. Speaking of I'm A Slave 4 U, the next feature is probably the best on the whole video. In September 2001, at the MTV Video Music Awards in New York, the whole world got a sneek-peak of Britney's new single I'm A Slave 4 U. Britney wasn't nominated for any awards, but stole the entire show with her controversial and highly-publicised performance. She went on-stage with real live tigers and lions and even belly-danced with a poisonous snake. As it wrapped itself around her neck and arms, it became the most envied creature on Earth amongst millions of red-blooded the world over! The third featurette on Britney: The Videos is Joy Of Pepsi. In March 2001, Britney signed a (estimated) $90 million deal to be the face of Pepsi. The first advert she made was called Joy Of Pepsi - and is on this video. This 90-second advert features Britney dressed in an amazing outfit as she struts her stuff in a Pepsi factory. In the advert, Britney is like the boss of Pepsi in more ways than one; through 2001, Pepsi reported a worldwide increase in their sales. Many popular singers such as Michael Jackson, Madonna, the Spice Girls, Robbie Williams and Gareth Gates have sponsored Pepsi - but Britney has proved to be the biggest hit with the mega soft-drink firm. The fourth feature in this video is the video to I'm A Slave 4 U. Released in October 2001, the song was a huge hit worldwide peaking at No.4 in the UK. The video was equally, if not more, successful than the song - especially where male fans are concerned! A lot of people say Britney looks awful in this video, but how does she?! She is the ultimate definition of a female sex-symbol of the 21st Century - this video supports this theory even more. The fifth and sixth features are Britney Strikes A Pose and I'm Not A Girl, Not Yet A Woman (Sydney Performance) respectively. The former is an average feature where Britney plays around on a photoshoot for Vogue magazine while the superb song Anticipating (from her third album Britney) plays in the background. The latter is just another average performance of Britney singing the otherwise brilliant ballad I'm Not A Girl, Not Yet A Woman in Sydney, Australia in September 2001 - before the September 11th terrorist attacks...
The video continues with Overprotected (featuring out-takes from Crossroads) and HBO Presents Britney Spears Live From Las Vegas. Again, the former is a great feature as Britney performs her huge hit Overprotected (UK No.4, January 2002) while funny out-takes from Crossroads are added in. The latter is the worst feature on the video. This is only the advertisement for Britney Spears Live From Las Vegas, not the actual concert which was released earlier this year. The advert is a bare 45 seconds long - not worthy of reviewing! The final featurette on Britney: The Videos is The Making Of Crossroads. This is one of the video's highlights as we go behind-the-scenes and witness Britney filming her debut film Crossroads. It has interviews with Britney (Lucy) herself, along with co-stars Taryn Manning (Mimi), Zoe Saldana (Kit) and Anson Mount (Ben) and director Tamra Davis. The video ends as the credits roll with several pictures of Britney as the song Let Me Be (from her third album, Britney) plays.
OVERALL GRADE: 9/10
All in all, Britney: The Videos is another must-have, essential Britney Spears home music video for every Britney fan. I so feel, however, that the video was a little rushed. There's so much more that they could've included such as Britney's other two amazing MTV Video Music Awards performances from 199 and 2000, along with the music videos to Born To Make You Happy and From The Bottom Of My Broken Heart from her debut album Baby One More Time which don't feature on Britney two previous home videos - Time Out With Britney and Britney - Live And More. They could also have included a special Britney Awards where all the awards that Britney has won over the past 4 years were featured. Oh well, no point in moaning! Buy this anyway - from Amazon of course!

Studio: Bmg/Jive/Silvertone
Actors:
Britney Spears



DVD title: Wish Upon a Star
Productgroup: DVD
Wish Upon a Star - movie DVD cover picture
Wish I had this movie


I really liked this movie because it was a comedic movie about two teenage girls who switch places. And to do more of a twist-- they're sisters with two totally different personalities! Their mother and father have a new philosophy about not scolding their child but to allow them to make their (the kids) to make their own mind. Mom and dad-- watch and learn! =)

Studio: Columbia/Tristar Studios
Director: Blair Treu



DVD title: 12 Monkeys
Productgroup: DVD
12 Monkeys - movie DVD cover picture
A great sci fiction thiller fun for every body


This is one of the best movies I have ever seen.This sci fiction thiller has it all. I think its more of a thiller than a sci fiction movie.

Studio: Universal Studios
Director: Terry Gilliam
Actors:
Bruce Willis
Madeleine Stowe
Brad Pitt




DVD title: The Outsiders
Productgroup: DVD
The Outsiders - movie DVD cover picture
i loved movie and actor's


This movie is good because, the actor's to play job perfectly.Ralph Macchio is emotion in the job of Jhony Cade, when he died, dallas don't understand, and he killed too.The history is beautiful and very touching. But the book and the video don't exist en France and I LIKE SO MUCH IS MOVIE, i want read the book and to see again the moovie.I heard that a dvd of outsiders (a rep) was to go out in 2003 for celebrate the 20 years of the movie.I hope he will in French too; if I want that is because the movie est GENIAL and i recommend it.

Studio: Warner Studios
Director: Francis Ford Coppola
Actors:
Matt Dillon
Ralph Macchio
C. Thomas Howell
Patrick Swayze
Rob Lowe
Emilio Estevez
Tom Cruise




DVD title: Dirty Pretty Things
Productgroup: DVD
Dirty Pretty Things - movie DVD cover picture
"Decisions, decisions, decisions..."


I was drawn to the movie, like a lot of others, because of Ms. Tautou. She didn't disappoint. But you may well quickly doff your Tautou infatuation once the movie gets in gear. The movie is about the privleged and non-privleged, and the sub-set of the non-privleged into the haves and have-nots. It is a stark reminder of the decisions we make and the ramifications that propogate from those decisions. At its base level, the movie is about the unrequited love of a man and a woman...sort of. It is not, as popularly expressed, a murder mystery. That (italicized) is merely the vehicle of the love story. This entire movie harkens to the opening scene of Lynch's Blue Velvet; you may not like what you find beneath appearances. I wasn't uncomfortable watching the movie, but I felt somewhat guilty not crying at the end...and I still do.

Studio: Miramax Films
Director: Stephen Frears
Actors:
Chiwetel Ejiofor
Audrey Tautou
Sophie Okonedo




DVD title: The Whole Wide World
Productgroup: DVD
The Whole Wide World - movie DVD cover picture
Good movie, and I'm a Howard fan- Not a drama/romance fan


One of the things about this movie is that it inevitably attracts some fans of Howard's work who aren't necessarily drawn to romance/drama at all... myself included (I want "Action and Adventure!!"). Howard (along with a few others) created modern sword & sorcery fantasy fiction. His work has been mimicked and paid tribute to countless times. His characters were REAL- lusting, violent, Human... NOT the fairly-tale sexless creations of upright "normal" folks like Tolkien. His characters had both a lust for life and moral superiority, fighting the evils of "civilized" men and standing up for moral ideals. His bad guys were truely horrific (my example would be censored...). Howard was a genius and an interesting character, and this movie helps us to understand him a little. Cheers to Vincent- I think Howard was played very well and with respect.

Because of my high regard for Howard, I truly enjoyed the film. But not only that... The acting was some of the best that I've seen. All of the acting was absolutely first-class and the overall production was great. Because the script was based on "One Who Walked Alone" by Novalyne Price Ellis (the other major character in this movie), one can expect a lot of historical accuracy.

I think this will please both fans of Howard (and Howard's MANY literary children & grandchildren) as well as anyone looking for a great drama/romance flick.

Studio: Columbia Tristar Hom
Director: Dan Ireland
Actors:
Vincent D'Onofrio
Renée Zellweger




DVD title: Kill Bill, Volume 1
Productgroup: DVD
Kill Bill, Volume 1 - movie DVD cover picture
One More Thing


I just wrote a review but after reading some more of everyone else's comments I feel I need to tack on a footnote. Quentin Tarantino is not trying to teach everyone a moral lesson. All these people giving Kill Bill one star are just missing the point. So many other movies conform to these ridiculous moral standards that are ultimately meaningless anyway. Would I be a better person if at the end of Kill Bill Uma Thurman's character realizes that violence is wrong? Of course not! For Tarantino, cinema provides the opportunity for us to live out these outlandish fantasies that we could never confront in real life. Everything about this movie is hard-core, because Tarantino refuses to compromise anything, and that's why it is so good. For proof of how ignorant people are who don't like this movie, just read some of their reviews carefully. One is signed by a husband and wife, but it is clearly only the husband speaking, as he speaks in the singular. Another rambles incoherently using as many obscure words as possible, while another desperately tries to sound like an intellectual, using pretentious words like "whilst". Come on, watch this movie with an open mind, violence is a part of our culture already, so just accept it and enjoy.

Studio: Miramax
Director: Quentin Tarantino
Actors:
Uma Thurman
Lucy Liu
Daryl Hannah
David Carradine
Michael Madsen




DVD title: Melody Time (Disney Gold Classic Collection)
Productgroup: DVD
Melody Time (Disney Gold Classic Collection) - movie DVD cover picture
one of the best i have ever seen


This melody time has the story of Johnny apple seed in a well liked and simple told eazy for my 5yr old to even understand.I also like the story of little toot , that teaches to be good.many newer disney film seem to miss the mark of old fastion truth. Faith, Love, Hope.ionly wish they come out with a dvd in this melody time, for my son is wareing out his tape already.we bought this VHS about a year ago.

Studio: Walt Disney Home Video



TopSellers at Amazon - Action and Adventure movie DVD disks

A Pleasant Shade Of Gray : A Novel of the NYPD
The Kite Runner
The Historian
No Country for Old Men
The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time
Until I Find You : A Novel
Letters Home: From 9/11 to Operation Iraqi Freedom: A Military Mom Shares Her Family's Story of Patriotism, Courage and Love
The Secret Life of Bees
Lifeguard
The Beast And Babylon

TopSellers at Amazon - Comedy movie DVD disks

A Pleasant Shade Of Gray : A Novel of the NYPD
The Historian
No Country for Old Men
The Da Vinci Code
Lifeguard
Eleven on Top (A Stephanie Plum Novel)
4th of July
Angels & Demons
To Kill a Mockingbird
Crusader's Cross : A Dave Robicheaux Novel (Dave Robicheaux Mysteries (Hardcover))

TopSellers at Amazon - Sci-Fi and Fantasy movie DVD disks

Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince (Book 6)
The Time Traveler's Wife
Wicked: The Life and Times of the Wicked Witch of the West
Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix (Book 5 Audio CD)
Fahrenheit 451
1984
The Traveler : A Novel
Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire (Harry Potter (J.K. Rowling))
The Chronicles of Narnia
Knife of Dreams (Wheel of Time, Book 11)

Top 10 yahoo news about movie DVD-s

Yemen short-lists six for GSM award (ITP.net)
Servinova begins seamless Wi-Fi-GSM/GPRS VoIP network testing with ASNAP (MobileMag)
Strategic Partnership with CPS Enables Simcom to Integrate; High Accuracy Location Technology into GSM/W-CDMA Devices (ZDNet India)
Photo Release -- Servinova, a Cisco Systems Registered Partner Company Has Started Network Testing on CISCO Aironet (PrimeZone via Yahoo! Finance)
2N Intros GSM VOIP Support (Unstrung.com)
Wireless: Making a living from cellphone innards (International Herald Tribune)
Photo Release -- Servinova, a Cisco Systems Registered Partner Company Has Started Network Testing on CISCO Aironet (RedNova)
Group Helps Fight AIDS in Zambia; Four From Vancouver Join Christian Program (RedNova)
Docomo seeking overseas suppliers (Electronic Engineering Times Asia)
Bharti to outsource call-centres business for Rs 1,100 crore (Financial Express)

Valid XHTML and CSS

Valid XHTML 1.0!

Valid CSS!

Popular film titles (from webserver statistics)

Bonnie and Clyde
Karaoke: Rock/Pop Hits, Vol. 12
Lost Universe - In Space ... It's Very, Very Dark (Vol 1)
Karaoke: Christmas Songs, Vol. 1
Return to Me
The Bird With the Crystal Plumage
Weekly Workout and Body Control - The Pilates Way
Toy Story - The Ultimate Toy Box (Collector's Edition)
Atomic Bomb Collection
Memphis Belle
The Woody Allen Collection - 8 pack
The Saint
Heathers (Limited Edition Tin)
Emmanuelle l'Antivierge
Stealth Fighter
Boogie Nights (New Line Platinum Series)
Hercules Action Pack
Tombs of the Blind Dead/Return of the Blind Dead
City Of The Living Dead
Storm Tracker
Monty Python's Flying Circus, Disc 5
Guardian Angel
Mobile Suit Gundam Wing - Operation 2
The Quest
Just Cause
Instrumental Classmates
Hocus Pocus
The Front Page
1-900
Baby Massage Therapy: Newborns, Infants & Toddlers

# A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z